Category:

 Historical

Awards:   

September 2, 1939, the day of the Spanish exiles' splendid arrival in Chile, the Second World War broke out in Europe. Victor Dalmau is a young doctor when he is caught up in the Spanish Civil War, a tragedy that leaves his life - and the fate of his country - forever change... read more

A Long Petal of the Sea

Category:

 Historical

Awards: Winner Vogel Award 2020

WINNER OF THE AUSTRALIAN/VOGEL'S LITERARY AWARD
There is a woman, somewhere, here, in Van Diemen's Land, unless she had died or otherwise departed, called Maryanne Maginn.
Gabriel Fox, the young son of an old English ho... read more

A Treacherous Country (Winner 2020 Australian Vogel's Literary Award)

Category:

 Historical

Luke Elliott and Claudia Marsden have fallen in love at a perilous time. The Second World War is raging in the Pacific, barbed wire and gun emplacements are strung along the northern beaches in preparation for invasion. As the war moves closer, their 'sextet' of loyal school friends ... read more

Above the Fold

Category:

 Historical

Series:The\Wolf Hall Trilogy Ser.

An astounding literary accomplishment, Bring Up the Bodies is the story of this most terrifying moment of history, by one of our greatest living novelists. ‘Our most brilliant English writer’ Guardian Bring Up the Bodies unlocks the darkl... read more

Bring Up The Bodies (#2 Thomas Cromwell Trilogy)

Category:

 Historical

Who remembers the onlookers on the sidelines of big events? Such bystanders as the deposed queen Vashti, the blood-stained murdering grandmother Athaliah, the bluff soldier in King David's army, or the desperately searching mother Phoebe? In Bystanders Valerie Volk... read more

Bystanders: Echoes of Stories Past

Category:

 Historical

Series:The Tattooist of Auschwitz #2
Reading Level:Adult
Awards:   Longlisted ABIA Awards 2020

The sequel to the International Number One Bestseller The Tattooist of Auschwitz, based on a true story of love and resilience. In 1942 Cilka is just sixteen years old when she is taken to Auschwitz-Birkenau Concentration Camp. The Commandant at Birkenau, Schwarzhuber, notices her l... read more

Cilka's Journey

Category:

 Historical

For much of the World War II conflict, Japan had been a safe haven for its citizens, far, far away from Germany's relentless advance in Europe and the daily horrors of such events as the London blitz, concentration camps and the fall of France. But Alex Faure always felt that ... read more

Dragons in the Forest

Category:

 Historical

Birth. Death. Wonder ... One woman's journey to the edge of love and loyalty from the bestselling author of The Lace Weaver London, 1702. When her husband is lost at sea, Mary Burton Gulliver, midwife and herbalist, is forced to rebuild her life without him. But three years ... read more

Gulliver's Wife

Category:

 Historical

Awards:Shortlisted for The Women's Prize for Fiction 2020

A stunning new departure for Maggie O'Farrell's fiction, HAMNET is the heart-stopping story behind Shakespeare's most famous play. On a summer's day in 1596, a young girl in Stratford-upon-Avon takes to her bed with a fever. Her twin brother, Hamnet, searches everywhere for help. Why is n... read more

Hamnet

Category:

 Historical

Awards:   

'A truly gifted writer' Sebastian Barry
'Pure gold' Emma Donoghue
'Remarkable. It will haunt readers' Chigozie Obioma
WHAT MAKES A HOME A HOME? TELL ME A STORY I CAN DREAM ON . . .
Ba dies in the night, Ma is already gone. Lucy and Sam, twelve... read more

How Much of These Hills Is Gold

Category:

 Historical

Awards:Longlisted for the 2018 Women's Prize for Fiction

The long-awaited novel from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad, Manhattan Beach opens in Brooklyn during the Great Depression. Anna Kerrigan, nearly twelve years old, accompanies her father to the house of a man who, she gleans, is crucial to the sur... read more

Manhattan Beach (PB)

Category:

 Historical

Awards:Longlisted for The Women's Prize for Fiction 2018 Shortlisted for the ABIA Literary Fiction Book of the Year 2018

Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2018 Haunting, gripping and gorgeously written, SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE by Sarah Schmidt is a re-imagining of the unsolved American true crime case of the Lizzie Borden murders, for fans of BURIAL RITES and MAKING A MURDERER.
... read more

See What I Have Done